Latest News

East Region Goalden Globes 2019

The East Regional Assembly and Goalden Globe presentations took place on Saturday 4th May 2019 at the Fielder Centre in Hatfield, Hertfordshire. Nominees and guests joined Netball East to help celebrate 70 years of netball in the region and honor the volunteers who have been invaluable in helping to grow Netball in the region.

The celebrations commenced with Afternoon tea and Prosecco, followed by the volunteer recognition awards ceremony, celebration of this year’s East competition for RCL, National clubs and schools and also a trip down memory lane, celebrating 70 years of netball in the East region. The presentation included stories and footage from the East archives covering 70 years of netball in the region. Guest speakers included, Sheelagh Redpath East HLM, Cheryl Danson OBE and East HLM, Kendra Slawinski OBE and Jackie Mizon,

 The East Region Goalden Globe 2019 winners are:

• Sheelagh Redpath Officiating Award (grassroots) – Sandra Howlett.

 • Outstanding Club of the year Award – Wodson Park

 • Coach award - Anne Goodman

 • Chris Harpham / Young Volunteer Award – Ellie Nicholls.

 • Muriel McNally Award – Sandra Smith.

 • Mary Bulloch Administrator Award – Christine Worrall. 

 • Unsung Hero Award– Linda Gaine. 

 • Netball Teacher Award – Ashleigh Cullum.

Presenting the Goalden Globe awards were: Sheelagh Redpath East HLM, Cheryl Danson OBE and East HLM, Kendra Slawinski OBE, Almena Theobald East HLM, Brian Worrell East HLM, Gloria Keech East HLM, Jackie Mizon and Emily St John (England Netball), . It was a lovely afternoon celebrating the amazing work and valued support given by our volunteers and the achievements of those within East region.

Congratulations to all our winners who will now go forward to be nominated for the England Netball National Goalden Globes 2019 which will be held on 14th July 2019 in Liverpool for a very special Vitality Netball World Cup celebration, where the National Winners will be announced.

The East competition awards were given out by Kendra Slawinski, OBE, June Griffith, East HLM and Emily St John, England Netball.